Terrestrial Planets

Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars are collectively known as the terrestrial planets. Although part of the same group, each planet has its own set of characteristics. Scholars explore the characteristics that make the planets unique and those that lead to the grouping.

29 Views 35 Downloads NGSS: Adaptable
Additional Tags
Instructional Ideas
  • Have pupils create a Venn diagram to organize the characteristics of the inner planets
  • Ask for individuals to provide one unique fact for each planet as an exit card after the lesson
Classroom Considerations
  • Assumes learners have a basic understanding of the solar system
  • Includes actual satellite images to add to the verbal explanations
  • Provides a thorough description of each planet
  • None